Hoboken Travels: A Picture Essay of my Trip to San Francisco

Sometimes even a girl that loves Hoboken has to get out of Hoboken. So that’s exactly what I did recently. Yes, I went to San Francisco. No, I didn’t wear any flowers in my hair. But I did wear a floral scarf from J-Crew while I was there.

Here are some of my pictures and highlights from the trip. All were taken on my Canon 7D.

We stayed in Nob Hill, right off of California Street. It was a gorgeous area!


One of my favorite areas that we explored was Chinatown. Having been to China and Hong Kong before, it really reminded me of the streets of Asia – busy and filled with color and life.

One of the days we were there, we took an excursion to Alcatraz. Now, I had never seen the show or read up much about the island or prison, but it was such an incredible experience! So much history, in such an eerie atmosphere.

Here are two of my favorite pics from Alcatraz:

Another fun excursion that brought a flood of childhood mems was our visit to the Full House “houses” from the opening credits of the episode. Uncle Jesse, how I miss thee.

Wine tasting in Sonoma was another favorite day. Who doesn’t love some day drinking and beautiful views?

After lots of wine, we were pretty hungry. This diner in Sonoma was so cute, but unfortunately it was closed until the following day.

Luckily, we found a homemade jerky store on the way back to San Fran. I definitely deviated from my pseudo-vegetarian ways for this one.

When you’re in San Francisco, I feel it’s necessary to eat and drink some healthy foods. So what is better than a smoothie?? I was hoping for some shots of wheat grass, but no such luck… I settled for strawberry banana.

I know you’re wondering about the Golden Gate Bridge. Don’t worry. We walked across AND BACK (there were literally no cabs or any transport on the other side) the day that we explored it. My feet hurt after that 4.5 miles.

Of course, a Jersey girl gets a bit homesick after a week. So how did we solve this problem? By getting a cannoli, of course! It was actually pretty delicious – had little chocolate chips and some orange zest mixed in. Rivaling Giorgio’s, I’d say.

Last but not least, a photo of the Bay Bridge at night.

It truly was a fantastic trip and a welcome break from the daily grind. There are a lot more pictures, but I just wanted to give you the highlights. I highly recommend San Francisco as a destination if you’re looking to get out of Hoboken for a long weekend or week! So much to do and see. Hopefully I’ll be able to go back very soon…or at least get another break to travel somewhere fun!

About Hoboken Girl

Just a brunette with straight hair, leather boots, and a Louis Vuitton...and a love for the Mile Square City.
This entry was posted in Foodie Fun, Hoboken Travels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

