Hoboken Sweets: Cannolis from Giorgio’s Bakery

A while back, I taste tested some cannolis from Carlo’s, downtown. This time I decided to taste test Giorgio’s Italian Bakery in uptown Hoboken (1112 Washington St.)…that I had heard excellent things about. And NO lines!

When we walked in, we were greeted by a sweet and cookie-filled aroma. The place looked a little dark, and at first I thought it was closed. But, a woman popped out from the back and cordially welcomed us! There were lots of cookies in the glass display case, such as these:

20120424-224451.jpg
Meringues

20120424-224532.jpg
Sprinkles

20120424-224606.jpg
Choc chip

Colorful and delicious, yet simple. There’s really nothing like the taste of an Italian cookie!

Even though there were lots of goodies to choose from, we had a mission. Cannoli Taste Test. Stick to the plan!!

When we ordered our cannolis, I opted for a chocolate shell, my cannoli date opted for a vanilla shell. Of course, the cannolis were filled on the spot!

20120424-225607.jpg

Regarding the cannoli flavor: a hint of orange zest mixed with a creamy vanilla filling throughout made this cannoli one of the best I’ve truly ever tasted. I will say that the chocolate shell was a bit better than the vanilla- but that is just my personal preference. I love a yummy chocolate coating.

Here are some more treats that can be found at Giorgio’s:

20120424-225810.jpg

20120424-225836.jpg

All very pleasing to the eye!

The woman waiting on me was also super friendly– she even complimented the necklace I was wearing. I considering trading it for a weeks supply of cannolis…. But managed to resist!

Make sure next time you are uptown to check out Giorgio’s. It’s a great, authentic Italian bakery with no crazy lines and always some scrumptious treats!

Have you been to Giorgio’s? What’s been your experience?

About Hoboken Girl

Just a brunette with straight hair, leather boots, and a Louis Vuitton...and a love for the Mile Square City.
This entry was posted in Foodie Fun, Hoboken Eats, Hoboken Sweets, Things to do in Hoboken and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hoboken Sweets: Cannolis from Giorgio’s Bakery

  1. Pingback: Hoboken Travels: A Picture Essay of my Trip to San Francisco | Hoboken Girl

Leave a Reply

