Healthy Hoboken Eats: Salmon-Avocado Sushi Roll from Robongi

Monday morning… Back to the healthy eating drawing board. For some, Monday is the day you restart your diet after a weekend of eating wings and guzzling girly drinks and beer.

My mantra lately is to try to make healthy decisions as much as possible on weekends so that I don’t have to feel guilty on Mondays about how much garbage I consumed over the weekend. So last night, instead of ordering a pizza or other cheesy deliciousness, I opted for sushi.

Sushi is a great healthy and light option (depending on what route you go when you’re ordering). If you order a roll that is fried or stuffed with cream cheese, that may be a different story. I also consider it a treat, so it’s nice to order something you enjoy that is also semi-good for you.

One of my favorite sushi joints is Robongi on Washington street. I often order my takeout sushi from there- and did just that last night.

20120312-103001.jpg

Here’s a pic of my salmon avocado (intertwined with sweet potato rolls- another delicious, but healthier, treat). I opted for brown rice rolls- which is your best bet if you’re trying to stay healthy.

I also ordered the house salad with ginger dressing, which is my jaaa-aam. I absolutely die for ginger dressing, and it totally makes up for the lame lettuce leaves they give you as part of the house salad.

20120312-103356.jpg
My lame house salad with amazeballs ginger dressing.

Here’s a tip: I always ask for extra dressing so I can use it the following day on a salad for lunch.

 

Any healthy eating secrets around Hoboken that you want to share? Tweet me @Hobokengirlblog

About Hoboken Girl

Just a brunette with straight hair, leather boots, and a Louis Vuitton...and a love for the Mile Square City.
This entry was posted in Healthy Hoboken Eats, Hoboken Restaurants, Things to do in Hoboken and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

