Hoboken Planet Fitness Delays Opening and Spoils Dozens of Belated New Years Resolutions

So I recently joined Planet Fitness in Hoboken. How could I resist? At $10 a month, there was no feeling guilty for only going weekly or biweekly during the frigid winter evenings. After not having gone to the gym since pre-the holiday season, I decided that since it supposedly opened yesterday, it was time to give it a go.

So I got on my new yoga pants, sneaks, and charged my ipod. I even snacked on some almonds and greek yogurt after work for some pre-workout energy. Trust me, this was a labor intensive process that burned a lot of calories. I may not even have had to go to the gym with how much pacing and organizing I did in my apartment in preparation. I won’t even get into braving the howling 40mph wind that practically gave me frost bite. But, when I finally got to Planet Fitness on 7th and Washington, I was greeted by this sign:

Really, Planet Fitness?

Then, they send me a nice little email that I of course get AFTER I walk all the way to the gym and back. Hmmm…maybe that was the idea, to get me outside and walking? Grrr…

Dear Planet Fitness, what truly makes matters worse, is that because your membership is only $10/month, that nice little “refund” of $10 you’re giving me for the month of January won’t even make a dent in my dry cleaning bill. I think waiting a few more days (hopefully)? to tone up is worth a bit more than $10. PLUS, what about all those resolutioners? They want to turn a new leaf January 1st with their workout plan, and you’re making us wait til mid January, fine… but now …indefinitely!?

Maybe I’m also upset because I don’t get to say things like this:

Perhaps tomorrow we’ll have an update. Until then I have resorted to my type of exercising today, which includes heading from my couch to the refrigerator and back to said couch. It must be the weather…. maybe I should thank them 🙂 Anyone else in this predicament?

About Hoboken Girl

Just a brunette with straight hair, leather boots, and a Louis Vuitton...and a love for the Mile Square City.
This entry was posted in Fitness Freak Wannabe, Things to do in Hoboken and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hoboken Planet Fitness Delays Opening and Spoils Dozens of Belated New Years Resolutions

  1. Rory Chadwick says:

    I spoke to the regional manager whose name and number were on a letter i got in the mail saying the building department denied the inspection and that they would open no later than Feb, 9. I told him good luck with that and with our local building department it could be a year before they open. Only in Hoboken do you have to do things all over again because the pen holder on the counter needs to be 2 inches to the left. I joined myself and I hope his estimate it right, many I spoke with think this could be closed until September the earliest.

Leave a Reply

