Living Room Mini-Makeover

So I moved into my apartment in June of 2011…but having a stressful job for a good portion of this year, I have put off making my little place aesthetically pleasing. So over winter break, my goal was to make my apartment more feng shui and happy with a little help from Pinterest.

I started with a pretty blank slate in my living room corner. Here is the before picture:

Borrrrring. So I decided to stick with a blue accented theme, since my couch is white, and I’ve got to get some color on the walls.

Here are some of the after pictures:

I love fresh flowers, but I always feel like I’m not home enough to enjoy them before they die on me – so I splurged on some faux flowers from Home Goods, a whopping $16.99. I think they look semi-real, what do you think?

I also added some coffee table books to be a reminder to stay organized. And a little photo frame (that I have yet to pick out a photo for) as a topper for the pile of books. A paperweight for books!

Here’s what my made over corner looks like now:Everything in this corner (besides the brown velvet chair – a gift from my mom) is from Marshalls/Home Goods (#myjam) in Secaucus, about 10 minutes from Hoboken on a good day. Just make sure you don’t leave during rush hour or you’ll never get back in time!

Here’s a picture of the rest of the living room:

The flowers on the wall are my original photographs with white IKEA frames – also where I got the couch (Elizabeth, NJ). All pillows courtesy of Home Goods! Love that place. I added some blue pillows to make the couch pop (and integrate into the corner’s makeover).

And there you have it! A bit more of a feng shui, aesthetically pleasing little space in my Hoboken Railroad apartment.

About Hoboken Girl

Just a brunette with straight hair, leather boots, and a Louis Vuitton...and a love for the Mile Square City.
This entry was posted in Apartment Decor, Hoboken Girl and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

